Snow days = book reviews

15 Jan
download (2)

this is actually not at all what it looks like outside; my transition from the Midwest (where blizzards often didn’t merit snow days) to living in Appalachia has taught me that hollow (holler) roads and ice don’t mesh well

So it’s 6 am and I’m currently laying in bed wide awake because I finally mentally prepared myself for school today after two snow days without snow and then at the last possible second, they cancelled school. Which leaves me with so much free time – free time I only dared imagine in my wildest dreams last semester and which is now making me feel frenzied in its literally UNENDING possibilities. I’m at the point where I could paint furniture, read a third book, crochet a (probably an entire) blanket. However, as to not invite the wrath of a thousand friends I shall not detail what I will do with this particular wonder of teaching   (read: the only wonder) and instead give a quick review of the first two books I read this week. So you who do not have snow days for no snow can also enjoy the inspiration and joys available from being literate.

downloadThe first book is Leading Ladies, a series of short biographies on just a few of the cool ladies of America. It’s actually written by a lady congresswoman with differing political views than me, but the fact is made within the woven stories that we’re all women so we strive together and I got into it. Believe that as you will, it was an inspirational read. Chapters included women in the military, first ladies, Nobel Peace Prize winners, Nobel winners in medicine, etc. I remain obsessed with Eleanor Roosevelt, Jane Addams, and now, Jody Williams. Best part of the book? Its collection of pictures attracted one of my students, who asked to borrow it for silent reading. I begged her to try and read some of it as well, and to my great happiness she had read five pages when she returned it and asked to borrow it again. (Make that two wonders of teaching.)

The second book is called Make the Impossible Possible. A wordy title, but the endeavor to read what sounds like a fluffy self-help book was welldownload (1) worth it. I chose it from a pile of books in Madison during Maxwell Street Days because it was $1 and marigold, my favorite color. It also has an elephant on the cover, for a reason which is never hinted at in all its 227 pages. But it’s a tale of Bill Strickland, who grew up poor and black in Pittsburgh in the 1950’s, had a teacher who taught him to throw pots, and through sheer passion and belief in the power of change, created the Manchester Bidwell centers (essentially incredibly amazing job training centers). There have been no limits to his creations – his students grow orchids, sit in pristine architectural creations, listen to world renowned jazz musicians, and go on to good jobs in the culinary arts, chemical and pharmaceutical fields, and so many more. If you don’t believe it sounds like the way to help people out of poverty, read the book or believe the Genius award he received. I liked it.

I think I’ll read On the Road today. It’ll be interesting to think about in comparison to Wild, which I read over break (also inspiring, in spite of the loss of too many toenails). But unless we have a snow day tomorrow you’ll have to get by in life without a hasty, sparse review written from a phone because atrophy has set in and I may never leave my bed.

One Response to “Snow days = book reviews”

  1. ruppertma January 16, 2015 at 4:34 am #

    Having an indirect hand in a kid reading is pretty much the best thing I could ask for!

Comments are closed.